Yahoo
Skip to main content
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement

If you ever shared a Claude chat, your private data could be on Google

A Pixel 10 on a table with the Claude Logo open.
Dibakar Ghosh | How-To Geek

Your private chats with Anthropic's Claude might be very public. Searchers have discovered that many Claude conversations are searchable in Google, some of them containing sensitive information.

The chats, first found on Reddit and later verified by Futurism , were shared as public links but are easy to find even if you don't have the direct link. Some include detailed health reports, identifying details for children, and company documents. Anthropic makes clear that "anyone with the link can view," but doesn't mention Google potentially indexing this content.Anthropic told How-To Geek in a statement that it doesn't share "chat directories or sitemaps" with search engines, and that these links aren't "guessable or discoverable" unless users share the links themselves. It also stresses that shared conversations are "publicly accessible," although it doesn't mention disclaimers. The company appears to have removed some Google results as of this writing.

Incidents like this aren't unique. Google has indexed shared Claude chats in the past, as have conversations with OpenAI's ChatGPT and xAI's Grok. However, it's notable that this remains a problem, and that users aren't warned about the risks.

How do I keep my Claude chats private?

If you've already shared, you can still take action

The simplest solution to keeping your Claude chat private, as you might guess, is to avoid sharing it as a public link. If you're worried that sensitive data might reach the web, it's better to copy the text and paste it into a secure document you can share only with intended recipients.

Advertisement
Advertisement

If you've already shared chats through Claude, there are still ways to recover your privacy. You can manage conversations through a few quick steps:

  1. Visit Settings.

  2. Choose Privacy.

  3. Choose Private Chats.

  4. Remove the chats you no longer want to share.

Your chats should vanish from the public web once Google updates its search index.

However, this won't help if thieves have already taken your data. Before you delete anything, review sensitive data and look for potential abuses going forward, such as identity fraud and spear phishing (targeted phishing) campaigns. If it's corporate data, be sure to inform your business and make sure other employees are protecting their own chats.

Advertisement
Advertisement

It's not clear how long the chats have been available or if they've been misused. You might not have an immediate reason to worry, and there can be reasons to share chats (such as disclosing vibe-coded apps). It's just important to think carefully before you share content from now on.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Mobilize your Website
View Site in Mobile | Classic
Share by: