How to stop new Meta AI model from using your Instagram pics
( NewsNation ) — Meta announced a new AI image model Tuesday that allows anyone to generate images from your Instagram posts, sparking a host of privacy concerns.
The new model, called Muse Image, automatically includes public profiles to be used in generative AI creations. All someone has to do is tag your public profile in a prompt and they can generate an image using your likeness.
Meta poses Muse Image as a creative partner "rooted in your world." However, they stated "you will not be notified about content created using AI features at Meta."
Meta sued over Facebook, Instagram scams
As the new model automatically applies to accounts, many are voicing privacy concerns.
Creative Artists Agency (CAA), whose clients include stars like Meryl Streep and Tom Hanks, released a statement slamming the new model for its opt-out policy, according to Variety.
"We call on Meta to make protection the default on Muse Image, not the exception, and enable individuals to opt-in," CAA shared on Wednesday. "Artists deserve to decide if and how their likeness and work is used, with consent and the ability to set their own terms."
How to protect your account
If you have a public account but don't want your likeness available for AI image creation, it is possible to turn Muse Image off. Private accounts are not available for Muse Image.
To make your entire account off-limits for reuse, go to your profile and tap the three lines in the top right. Below "How others can interact with you," tap "Sharing and reuse." Below "Allow people to reuse your content on Instagram and with AI features at Meta," tap the toggle off next to "Posts" and "Reels."
Meta-YouTube ruling will have 'profound' effect: Attorney
You can also control reuse for individual posts, if you don't want your entire account off-limits.
To protect a singular post, go to your profile and find the post you want to manage. In the post, tap the three dots in the bottom right. Then tap "Turn off reuse" and "Turn off" to confirm.
If someone has already made AI content using your posts, turning off the settings will not delete it. It only prevents future creations.
Copyright 2026 Nexstar Media, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.
For the latest news, weather, sports, and streaming video, head to NewsNation.
