Yahoo
Skip to main content
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement

ChatGPT: How to remove your recent activity

Image showing the ChatGPT logo and the trash can icon against a purple backdrop

OpenAI's ChatGPT is an AI chatbot that can discuss numerous topics, write code, draft emails, help with research, and more. You can access the service from almost any device, including a smartphone, tablet , computer, and laptop. If ChatGPT has become a part of your daily life, you may find the sidebar cluttered with all your chats. Whether you want to protect your privacy or start with a clean slate, you can easily delete specific chats or your entire conversation history. This guide shows you how to remove your recent activity from ChatGPT.

What happens when you delete your ChatGPT history?

You may want to delete your ChatGPT conversations to clean up the chat history or safeguard your privacy. If you plan to delete your ChatGPT account, it's a good idea to delete all your chats. It ensures that no one else gets access to your conversation history with the AI chatbot.

Avoid sharing confidential information with ChatGPT. Even though the company says it doesn't share your data with third parties, a leak could expose sensitive data.

Advertisement
Advertisement

OpenAI states that it removes deleted chats from its systems within 30 days. It means you cannot recover ChatGPT conversations after you delete them. You can archive chats if you don't want them in your chat history.

How to delete all your ChatGPT chats

You can remove all your conversations from the chat history via the ChatGPT website and mobile app.

Deleting ChatGPT chats on desktop

Here's how to remove your conversation history on the desktop website:

  1. Open ChatGPT on any browser.

  2. Sign in to your ChatGPT account.

  3. Click the profile iconat the top.

  4. Click Settings.

    Screenshot highlighting Settings on the ChatGPT website
  5. In the Generaltab, select Delete allbeside Delete all chats.

    Screenshot highlighting Delete all on the ChatGPT website
  6. Click Confirm deletion.

    Screenshot highlighting Confirm deletion on the ChatGPT website
  7. ChatGPT will permanently delete your chats. You can't retrieve them.

Advertisement
Advertisement

We use an Android phone for the mobile app screenshots. The steps are similar for iOS devices.

Deleting ChatGPT chats on mobile

Here's how to delete your ChatGPT conversations on the mobile app:

  1. Open the ChatGPT app.

  2. Log in to your account.

  3. Tap the menu iconat the top left.

    Screenshot highlighting the menu icon on the ChatGPT mobile app

    Close

  4. Tap your profile name at the bottom.

  5. Select Data Controls.

    Screenshot highlighting the user profile on the ChatGPT mobile app
    Screenshot highlighting Data Controls on the ChatGPT mobile app

    Close

  6. Tap Clear Chat History.

  7. Select Clear Chat Historyto confirm.

    Screenshot highlighting Clear Chat History on the ChatGPT mobile app
    Screenshot highlighting Clear Chat History on the ChatGPT mobile app

    Close

ChatGPT

OpenAI

PRODUCTIVITY

Price: Free

4.8

Download

How to delete a single ChatGPT chat

If you're presenting your screen during a meeting, you may not want others to see specific chats with ChatGPT. Instead of nuking your chat history, you can remove a conversation from the website and app.

Deleting a single chat on desktop

Here's how to remove a single chat from the desktop site:

Advertisement
Advertisement
  1. Visit the ChatGPT website.

  2. Log in to your account.

  3. Hover your cursor over the chat you want to delete from the navigation bar on the left.

  4. Click the three-dot iconbeside the chat.

  5. Click Delete.

    Screenshot highlighting Delete on the ChatGPT website

Deleting a single chat on mobile

Here's how to delete a specific chat on the mobile app:

  1. Launch the ChatGPTapp.

  2. Tap the menu icon.

  3. Long-press a chat.

  4. Tap Delete.

    Screenshot highlighting the menu icon on the ChatGPT mobile app
    Screenshot highlighting Delete on the ChatGPT mobile app

    Close

How to archive chats in ChatGPT

Deleting a conversation removes it from your chat history. If you don't want all your chats littered on the sidebar, you can archive them on the website or mobile app. It stores your conversations and lets you retrieve them any time.

Archiving a conversation

Here's how to archive a chat on the website:

  1. Visit the ChatGPT website.

  2. Log in to your account.

  3. Hover your cursor over the chat you want to archive.

  4. Click the three-dot icon.

  5. Click Archive.

    Screenshot highlighting Archive on the ChatGPT website
Advertisement
Advertisement

Here's how to archive a chat on the app:

  1. Open ChatGPT on your phone.

  2. Sign in to your account.

  3. Tap the menu icon.

  4. Long-press a chat.

  5. Tap Archive.

    Screenshot highlighting the menu icon on the ChatGPT mobile app
    Screenshot highlighting Archive on the ChatGPT mobile app

    Close

Managing an archived conversation

You can restore and resume archived chats on the ChatGPT website or app.

Here's how to manage an archived chat on the website:

  1. Visit the ChatGPT website.

  2. Sign in to your account.

  3. Click your profile icon.

  4. Select Settings.

    Screenshot highlighting Settings on the ChatGPT website
  5. Click Managebeside Archived chats.

    Screenshot highlighting Manage on the ChatGPT website
  6. Click the box iconto remove the conversation from the archive.

    Screenshot highlighting the archive option on the ChatGPT website
  7. You'll see the chat appear on the sidebar.

  8. Click the chat to resume the conversation.

Here's how to manage an archived chat on the app:

  1. Open ChatGPT on your phone.

  2. Log in to your account.

  3. Tap the menu icon.

    Screenshot highlighting the menu icon on the ChatGPT mobile app

    Close

  4. Tap the profile icon.

  5. Tap Data Controls.

    Screenshot highlighting the user profile on the ChatGPT mobile app
    Screenshot highlighting Data Controls on the ChatGPT mobile app

    Close

  6. Tap View Archived Chats.

  7. Tap the chat.

  8. Select Unarchive.

    Screenshot highlighting View Archived Chats on the ChatGPT mobile app
    Screenshot highlighting Unarchive on the ChatGPT mobile app

    Close

Simplify your daily tasks with ChatGPT

If your chat window is cluttered with too many conversations, you can clean it up quickly by deleting unwanted chats. Archiving chats is a good option if you do not want to delete them permanently. The AI service also lets you organize chats by saving them. There is an export function if you want to back up your conversations.

Advertisement
Advertisement

You can use the chatbot to simplify your life by prompting it to translate text, process data, and write emails. If you want to enhance your workflow, we have some effective productivity hacks to maximize the use of ChatGPT. You can use it to debug code, plan a project, brainstorm ideas, analyze data, and more.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Mobilize your Website
View Site in Mobile | Classic
Share by: