How to know if you're blocked on iMessage
Additionally, if you want to be discreet about blocking someone, they might still be able to tell if they do these things.
If you buy something through a link in this article, we may earn commission.
Compared to the vast majority of tech companies that treat your personal details as a marketable commodity, Apple has a longstanding and generally well-earned reputation when it comes to protecting the privacy of its users. And that includes not blatantly notifying someone when you block their phone number. After all, if you've been motivated to truly cut off all communication with someone, flagging that fact is likely only going to exacerbate the tension. But if you're wondering whether someone can find out you've blocked them, the short answer is yes. And if you want to know how to know if you've been blocked on iMessage, I'll give you a few hints below.
While Apple doesn't send a "You've been blocked!" alert to the blockee, there are a number of ways they could find out — especially if you're both using iPhones. For instance, not immediately seeing the blue bubble or getting a read receipt are telltale signs that iMessages aren't going through.
Here, I'll walk you through all the ways someone might know if you've blocked them, and a workaround if you don't want them to know you're ignoring them.
Ways someone can tell if they're blocked on iMessage
If you've got someone blocked, it might not remain a secret for long if they notice these things.
They can tell by the color of the text bubble
If the two of you have always had blue-bubble text messages but suddenly yours are green now, that could be an indicator that you've blocked them — especially if you're not responding.
They're not getting a read receipt
If they don't see a sign that their message was read (assuming you have your read receipts turned on), they might think you just haven't opened the text yet. But if it keeps happening, they might realize they've been blocked.
A simple call or FaceTime might give them a hint
If someone tries to call you while they're blocked, it'll go straight to voicemail. You won't receive a notification but you can open the voicemails tab on the phone app and scroll all the way to the bottom to access blocked voicemails. Also, if they try to FaceTime you, they won't be able to get through and won't be able to leave a message.
How blocked callers may try to reroute
If the person knows they've been blocked, they might try to find ways around it — for instance, by hide their number with *67 and calling you. A new iOS 26 feature actually screens all calls from unknown numbers and asks the reason for calling so you can make the decision to pick up or not. If you don't have it turned on yet, go to Settings > Apps > Phone > scroll down and select Ask Reason for Calling under Screen Unknown Callers. You can also silence any numbers you don't know.
They may also try to create new iCloud accounts to text or FaceTime you from. iOS 26 also has a new feature that screens unknown senders and puts them in a different tab. You can turn it on by going to Settings > Messages > toggle on Screen Unknown Senders.
As a warning, never answer any calls from numbers you don't know and don't open text messages if you don't already have the number or email saved.
Are you the one who's been blocked? Take the hint and just leave it alone. Don't try to call or text the person until they're ready to talk to you.
How to block someone on iMessage your iPhone
Not sure how to block contacts in the first place? I can walk you through it.
1. Open the Settings app, then scroll down and tap Privacy & Security.
2. Tap Blocked Contacts .
3. Select Add Blocked Contact.
3. Type the person's name in the To: search bar, then tap Block Contact.
You can also see everyone that you currently have blocked below the "Add Blocked Contact" button. For instance, mine says "37 Unknown" — I used to get a lot of spam calls. If you go into all the blocked contacts, you can select any to unblock (if you want).
Don't worry, I unblocked myself after this.
Why block when you can ghost?
If you don't want the person to know you're purposely ignoring them, blocking them isn't the only solution — especially if you're worried about them finding out. Let's start with text messages first. Open the Messages app and select the person you're trying to avoid. Tap their profile at the top and toggle on Hide Alerts. You'll still get the messages but you won't receive any notifications.
For phone calls, you can set up a new Focus that only excludes certain people. Open the Settings app and scroll down to Focus. Tap the Plus icon in the top right corner and select Custom — give it whatever name you prefer, then tap Next and Customize Focus.
From here, tap Choose People and select Silence Notifications From. Now you can add anyone you don't want to reach you, and they'll never know they're the only ones who are silenced. Tap the Check icon in the top right corner when you're finished. You can enable it by going to your lock screen, then press and hold the screen and tap Focus > name of focus. Again, you'll still see they've called but you won't be notified.
