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Page Summary
Thead_group_adresource in the Google Ads API represents an ad within an ad group and provides access to its attributes and performance data.
You can query and analyze ad performance using various fields like headlines, descriptions, and URLs, segments such as date and device, and metrics including clicks, impressions, and conversions.
The resource allows for retrieving detailed information about each field and segmenting data for deeper insights.
A comprehensive list of metrics provides insights into ad performance, including cost, conversions, click-through rates, and more.
The documentation serves as a reference for understanding available data points forad_group_adwithin the Google Ads API, enabling users to leverage the resource for reporting and optimization.
Fields from the above resources may be selected along with this
resource in your SELECT and WHERE clauses. These fieldswill not segmentmetrics in yourSELECTclause.
Fields/Segments/Metrics
This page shows all metrics and segments that can be put in the same SELECT clause as the fields ofad_group_ad.
However, when you specifyad_group_adin the FROM clause, some metrics and segments
cannot be used.
Use the following filter to show only the fields that can be used whenad_group_adis specified in the FROM clause.
Isad_group_adspecified in the FROM clause of your query?
The timestamp when this ad_group_ad was created. The datetime is in the customer's time zone and in "yyyy-MM-dd HH:mm:ss.ssssss" format.
Category
ATTRIBUTE
Data Type
DATE
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
ad_group_ad.effective_labels
Field description
The resource names of effective labels attached to this ad. An effective label is a label inherited or directly assigned to this ad.
Category
ATTRIBUTE
Data Type
RESOURCE_NAME
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
False
Repeated
True
ad_group_ad.engine_id
Field description
ID of the ad in the external engine account. This field is for Search Ads 360 account only, for example, Yahoo Japan, Microsoft, Baidu etc. For non-Search Ads 360 entity, use "ad_group_ad.ad.id" instead.
Category
ATTRIBUTE
Data Type
STRING
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
ad_group_ad.engine_status
Field description
Additional status of the ad in the external engine account. Possible statuses (depending on the type of external account) include active, eligible, pending review, etc.
The text of the keyword (at most 80 characters and 10 words).
Category
SEGMENT
Data Type
STRING
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
segments.month
Field description
Month as represented by the date of the first day of a month. Formatted as yyyy-MM-dd.
Category
SEGMENT
Data Type
DATE
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
segments.quarter
Field description
Quarter as represented by the date of the first day of a quarter. Uses the calendar year for quarters, for example, the second quarter of 2018 starts on 2018-04-01. Formatted as yyyy-MM-dd.
Category
SEGMENT
Data Type
DATE
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
segments.week
Field description
Week as defined as Monday through Sunday, and represented by the date of Monday. Formatted as yyyy-MM-dd.
Category
SEGMENT
Data Type
DATE
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
segments.year
Field description
Year, formatted as yyyy.
Category
SEGMENT
Data Type
INT32
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
metrics.all_conversions
Field description
The total number of conversions. This includes all conversions regardless of the value of include_in_conversions_metric.
Category
METRIC
Data Type
DOUBLE
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
metrics.all_conversions_by_conversion_date
Field description
The total number of conversions. This includes all conversions regardless of the value of include_in_conversions_metric. When this column is selected with date, the values in date column means the conversion date. Details for the by_conversion_date columns are available athttps://support.google.com/sa360/answer/9250611.
Category
METRIC
Data Type
DOUBLE
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
metrics.all_conversions_value
Field description
The value of all conversions.
Category
METRIC
Data Type
DOUBLE
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
metrics.all_conversions_value_by_conversion_date
Field description
The value of all conversions. When this column is selected with date, the values in date column means the conversion date. Details for the by_conversion_date columns are available athttps://support.google.com/sa360/answer/9250611.
Category
METRIC
Data Type
DOUBLE
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
metrics.average_cart_size
Field description
Average cart size is the average number of products in each order attributed to your ads. How it works: You report conversions with cart data for completed purchases on your website. Average cart size is the total number of products sold divided by the total number of orders you received. Example: You received 2 orders, the first included 3 products and the second included 2. The average cart size is 2.5 products = (3+2)/2. This metric is only available if you report conversions with cart data.
Average order value is the average revenue you made per order attributed to your ads. How it works: You report conversions with cart data for completed purchases on your website. Average order value is the total revenue from your orders divided by the total number of orders. Example: You received 3 orders which made $10, $15 and $20 worth of revenue. The average order value is $15 = ($10 + $15 + $20)/3. This metric is only available if you report conversions with cart data.
Category
METRIC
Data Type
INT64
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
metrics.clicks
Field description
The number of clicks.
Category
METRIC
Data Type
INT64
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
metrics.client_account_conversions
Field description
The number of client account conversions. This only includes conversion actions which include_in_client_account_conversions_metric attribute is set to true. If you use conversion-based bidding, your bid strategies will optimize for these conversions.
Category
METRIC
Data Type
DOUBLE
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
metrics.client_account_conversions_value
Field description
The value of client account conversions. This only includes conversion actions which include_in_client_account_conversions_metric attribute is set to true. If you use conversion-based bidding, your bid strategies will optimize for these conversions.
Category
METRIC
Data Type
DOUBLE
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
metrics.client_account_view_through_conversions
Field description
The total number of view-through conversions. These happen when a customer sees an image or rich media ad, then later completes a conversion on your site without interacting with (for example, clicking on) another ad.
Category
METRIC
Data Type
INT64
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
metrics.conversions
Field description
The number of conversions. This only includes conversion actions which include_in_conversions_metric attribute is set to true. If you use conversion-based bidding, your bid strategies will optimize for these conversions.
Category
METRIC
Data Type
DOUBLE
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
metrics.conversions_value
Field description
The sum of conversion values for the conversions included in the "conversions" field. This metric is useful only if you entered a value for your conversion actions.
Cost of goods sold (COGS) is the total cost of the products you sold in orders attributed to your ads. How it works: You can add a cost of goods sold value to every product in Merchant Center. If you report conversions with cart data, the products you sold are matched with their cost of goods sold value and this can be used to calculate the gross profit you made on each order. Example: Someone clicked on a Shopping ad for a hat then bought the same hat and a shirt. The hat has a cost of goods sold value of $3, the shirt has a cost of goods sold value of $5. The cost of goods sold for this order is $8 = $3 + $5. This metric is only available if you report conversions with cart data.
Category
METRIC
Data Type
INT64
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
metrics.cross_device_conversions
Field description
Conversions from when a customer clicks on an ad on one device, then converts on a different device or browser. Cross-device conversions are already included in all_conversions.
Cross-sell cost of goods sold (COGS) is the total cost of products sold as a result of advertising a different product. How it works: You report conversions with cart data for completed purchases on your website. If the ad that was interacted with before the purchase has an associated product (see Shopping Ads) then this product is considered the advertised product. Any product included in the order the customer places is a sold product. If these products don't match then this is considered cross-sell. Cross-sell cost of goods sold is the total cost of the products sold that weren't advertised. Example: Someone clicked on a Shopping ad for a hat then bought the same hat and a shirt. The hat has a cost of goods sold value of $3, the shirt has a cost of goods sold value of $5. The cross-sell cost of goods sold for this order is $5. This metric is only available if you report conversions with cart data. This metric is a monetary value and returned in the customer's currency by default. See the metrics_currency parameter athttps://developers.google.com/search-ads/reporting/query/query-structure#parameters_clause
Category
METRIC
Data Type
INT64
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
metrics.cross_sell_gross_profit_micros
Field description
Cross-sell gross profit is the profit you made from products sold as a result of advertising a different product, minus cost of goods sold (COGS). How it works: You report conversions with cart data for completed purchases on your website. If the ad that was interacted with before the purchase has an associated product (see Shopping Ads) then this product is considered the advertised product. Any product included in the purchase is a sold product. If these products don't match then this is considered cross-sell. Cross-sell gross profit is the revenue you made from cross-sell attributed to your ads minus the cost of the goods sold. Example: Someone clicked on a Shopping ad for a hat then bought the same hat and a shirt. The shirt is priced $20 and has a cost of goods sold value of $5. The cross-sell gross profit of this order is $15 = $20 - $5. This metric is only available if you report conversions with cart data. This metric is a monetary value and returned in the customer's currency by default. See the metrics_currency parameter athttps://developers.google.com/search-ads/reporting/query/query-structure#parameters_clause
Category
METRIC
Data Type
INT64
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
metrics.cross_sell_revenue_micros
Field description
Cross-sell revenue is the total amount you made from products sold as a result of advertising a different product. How it works: You report conversions with cart data for completed purchases on your website. If the ad that was interacted with before the purchase has an associated product (see Shopping Ads) then this product is considered the advertised product. Any product included in the order the customer places is a sold product. If these products don't match then this is considered cross-sell. Cross-sell revenue is the total value you made from cross-sell attributed to your ads. Example: Someone clicked on a Shopping ad for a hat then bought the same hat and a shirt. The hat is priced $10 and the shirt is priced $20. The cross-sell revenue of this order is $20. This metric is only available if you report conversions with cart data. This metric is a monetary value and returned in the customer's currency by default. See the metrics_currency parameter athttps://developers.google.com/search-ads/reporting/query/query-structure#parameters_clause
Category
METRIC
Data Type
INT64
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
metrics.cross_sell_units_sold
Field description
Cross-sell units sold is the total number of products sold as a result of advertising a different product. How it works: You report conversions with cart data for completed purchases on your website. If the ad that was interacted with before the purchase has an associated product (see Shopping Ads) then this product is considered the advertised product. Any product included in the order the customer places is a sold product. If these products don't match then this is considered cross-sell. Cross-sell units sold is the total number of cross-sold products from all orders attributed to your ads. Example: Someone clicked on a Shopping ad for a hat then bought the same hat, a shirt and a jacket. The cross-sell units sold in this order is 2. This metric is only available if you report conversions with cart data.
Category
METRIC
Data Type
DOUBLE
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
metrics.ctr
Field description
The number of clicks your ad receives (Clicks) divided by the number of times your ad is shown (Impressions).
Category
METRIC
Data Type
DOUBLE
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
metrics.gross_profit_margin
Field description
Gross profit margin is the percentage gross profit you made from orders attributed to your ads, after taking out the cost of goods sold (COGS). How it works: You report conversions with cart data for completed purchases on your website. Gross profit margin is the gross profit you made divided by your total revenue and multiplied by 100%. Gross profit margin calculations only include products that have a cost of goods sold value in Merchant Center. Example: Someone bought a hat and a shirt in an order on your website. The hat is priced $10 and has a cost of goods sold value of $3. The shirt is priced $20 but has no cost of goods sold value. Gross profit margin for this order will only take into account the hat because it has a cost of goods sold value, so it's 70% = ($10 - $3)/$10 x 100%. This metric is only available if you report conversions with cart data.
Category
METRIC
Data Type
DOUBLE
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
metrics.gross_profit_micros
Field description
Gross profit is the profit you made from orders attributed to your ads minus the cost of goods sold (COGS). How it works: Gross profit is the revenue you made from sales attributed to your ads minus cost of goods sold. Gross profit calculations only include products that have a cost of goods sold value in Merchant Center. Example: Someone clicked on a Shopping ad for a hat then bought the same hat and a shirt in an order from your website. The hat is priced $10 and the shirt is priced $20. The hat has a cost of goods sold value of $3, but the shirt has no cost of goods sold value. Gross profit for this order will only take into account the hat, so it's $7 = $10 - $3. This metric is only available if you report conversions with cart data.
Category
METRIC
Data Type
INT64
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
metrics.impressions
Field description
Count of how often your ad has appeared on a search results page or website on the Google Network.
Category
METRIC
Data Type
INT64
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
metrics.lead_cost_of_goods_sold_micros
Field description
Lead cost of goods sold (COGS) is the total cost of products sold as a result of advertising the same product. How it works: You report conversions with cart data for completed purchases on your website. If the ad that was interacted with has an associated product (see Shopping Ads) then this product is considered the advertised product. Any product included in the order the customer places is a sold product. If the advertised and sold products match, then the cost of these goods is counted under lead cost of goods sold. Example: Someone clicked on a Shopping ad for a hat then bought the same hat and a shirt. The hat has a cost of goods sold value of $3, the shirt has a cost of goods sold value of $5. The lead cost of goods sold for this order is $3. This metric is only available if you report conversions with cart data. This metric is a monetary value and returned in the customer's currency by default. See the metrics_currency parameter athttps://developers.google.com/search-ads/reporting/query/query-structure#parameters_clause
Category
METRIC
Data Type
INT64
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
metrics.lead_gross_profit_micros
Field description
Lead gross profit is the profit you made from products sold as a result of advertising the same product, minus cost of goods sold (COGS). How it works: You report conversions with cart data for completed purchases on your website. If the ad that was interacted with before the purchase has an associated product (see Shopping Ads) then this product is considered the advertised product. Any product included in the order the customer places is a sold product. If the advertised and sold products match, then the revenue you made from these sales minus the cost of goods sold is your lead gross profit. Example: Someone clicked on a Shopping ad for a hat then bought the same hat and a shirt. The hat is priced $10 and has a cost of goods sold value of $3. The lead gross profit of this order is $7 = $10 - $3. This metric is only available if you report conversions with cart data. This metric is a monetary value and returned in the customer's currency by default. See the metrics_currency parameter athttps://developers.google.com/search-ads/reporting/query/query-structure#parameters_clause
Category
METRIC
Data Type
INT64
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
metrics.lead_revenue_micros
Field description
Lead revenue is the total amount you made from products sold as a result of advertising the same product. How it works: You report conversions with cart data for completed purchases on your website. If the ad that was interacted with before the purchase has an associated product (see Shopping Ads) then this product is considered the advertised product. Any product included in the order the customer places is a sold product. If the advertised and sold products match, then the total value you made from the sales of these products is shown under lead revenue. Example: Someone clicked on a Shopping ad for a hat then bought the same hat and a shirt. The hat is priced $10 and the shirt is priced $20. The lead revenue of this order is $10. This metric is only available if you report conversions with cart data. This metric is a monetary value and returned in the customer's currency by default. See the metrics_currency parameter athttps://developers.google.com/search-ads/reporting/query/query-structure#parameters_clause
Category
METRIC
Data Type
INT64
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
metrics.orders
Field description
Orders is the total number of purchase conversions you received attributed to your ads. How it works: You report conversions with cart data for completed purchases on your website. If a conversion is attributed to previous interactions with your ads (clicks for text or Shopping ads, views for video ads etc.) it's counted as an order. Example: Someone clicked on a Shopping ad for a hat then bought the same hat and a shirt in an order on your website. Even though they bought 2 products, this would count as 1 order. This metric is only available if you report conversions with cart data.
Category
METRIC
Data Type
DOUBLE
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
metrics.revenue_micros
Field description
Revenue is the total amount you made from orders attributed to your ads. How it works: You report conversions with cart data for completed purchases on your website. Revenue is the total value of all the orders you received attributed to your ads, minus any discount. Example: Someone clicked on a Shopping ad for a hat then bought the same hat and a shirt in an order from your website. The hat is priced $10 and the shirt is priced $20. The entire order has a $5 discount. The revenue from this order is $25 = ($10 + $20) - $5. This metric is only available if you report conversions with cart data.
Category
METRIC
Data Type
INT64
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
metrics.units_sold
Field description
Units sold is the total number of products sold from orders attributed to your ads. How it works: You report conversions with cart data for completed purchases on your website. Units sold is the total number of products sold from all orders attributed to your ads. Example: Someone clicked on a Shopping ad for a hat then bought the same hat, a shirt and a jacket. The units sold in this order is 3. This metric is only available if you report conversions with cart data.
Category
METRIC
Data Type
DOUBLE
Type URL
N/A
Filterable
True
Selectable
True
Sortable
True
Repeated
False
metrics.visits
Field description
Clicks that Search Ads 360 has successfully recorded and forwarded to an advertiser's landing page.
[[["Easy to understand","easyToUnderstand","thumb-up"],["Solved my problem","solvedMyProblem","thumb-up"],["Other","otherUp","thumb-up"]],[["Missing the information I need","missingTheInformationINeed","thumb-down"],["Too complicated / too many steps","tooComplicatedTooManySteps","thumb-down"],["Out of date","outOfDate","thumb-down"],["Samples / code issue","samplesCodeIssue","thumb-down"],["Other","otherDown","thumb-down"]],["Last updated 2025-12-05 UTC."],[],["The document details the attributes, segments, and metrics available for `ad_group_ad` resources. `ad_group`, `campaign`, and `customer` are usable in queries but don't segment metrics. Ad attributes include `ad.display_url`, `ad.headline`, and `ad.type`, with filterable, selectable, and sortable properties. Segments, such as `ad_network_type`, `date`, and `device`, categorize data. Key metrics include `clicks`, `conversions`, `cost_micros`, `impressions` and `ctr`, allowing for performance analysis and optimization. Filtering determines usable elements in queries.\n"]]